Except for Cuttack, Bhubaneswar & Berhampur, Urban Civic Bodies are Reserved for Women Mayors

Bhubaneswar: As the elections for the urban local bodies (ULBs) are going to be conducted after April this year, the government of Odisha has announced the seat reservation lists on Friday for the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC), Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) and Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC).

As mentioned in the notification published by the Odisha Housing and Urban Development Department, the Mayor posts in Berhampur and Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporations are reserved for female candidates whereas the post has remained unreserved for Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC).

By subsection (4) of section 14 of the Odisha Municipal Corporation Act, 2003, the State Government has, thus, reserved the posts of the Mayor of the Municipal Corporations,” as stated in the notification.

Earlier this official announcement, the department had put out a draft notification in this regard by inviting any suggestions or criticisms from the people within fifteen days from the notification date.

Other than this, the State government has also done the ward delimitation and reservation of seats for all the three Municipal Corporations.

The BMC has been allotted an area of 67 wards, CMC has been allocated into 59 wards and the BRMC will be in 42 wards. There are going to be a total of 38 reserved wards in BMC, 33 in CMC and 23 in BRMC.

It is worth mentioning that the civic bodies have been operating without any public representatives since 2018 after the official tenure of the last elected Corporators and Councillors was completed. So the state government has opened up the path for the elections after three years in October this year.