EC Lifted Election Code of Conduct from 11 Districts in Odisha

The Election Commission has lifted the election code of conduct following the alert issued in Odisha by the Indian meteorological department. As it says 11 districts to be affected by the cyclone Fani, the EC has agreed to lift the code of conductinPuri, Jagatsighpur, Kendrapara, Bhadrak, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Ganjam, Khorda, cuttack and Jajpur for a fast rescue, relief and restoration activities.

According the MET department the cyclone Fani is likely to hit the coast of the state on 3 May. The MED has issued “yellow” warning and suggested a suspension of fishing activities, evacuation from the coastal areas, diversion or suspension of railways and road traffics.

Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik has met with the chief Election Commissioner on Monday in Delhi to request them to postpone the Patkura Assembly election, which was scheduled to be held on 19 May, due to the Cyclone Fani.

Asked about the performance of the BJD in the recent Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in Odisha, Naveen said his party will come out with flying colours. “Besides, the BJD will also win the Patkura Assembly seat,” he said.